Day 39      Lavacolla to Santiago

May 22, 2016             Sunday    6.2 miles         Left at 9:30 am arrived at the Cathedral at 3:00 (after one hour lunch)
I decided before the day began that I was going to “go with the flow.” I had some preconceived expectations of what I wanted to do and I let go of all of that just to experience the day as it happened.

We started our day with a pilgrim breakfast in our lovely pension by Martha.

Before we got to the suburbs of Santiago we walked through some rural areas and saw a young boy driving a tractor with his mother behind him shouting directions.

Mother and son doing farm work

Pilgrims all heading to Santiago, finishing their pilgrimage today.






And then we enter Santiago. It is still probably two miles until we get to the Cathedral.

Is this the same donkey I saw leaving Cacabelos?

We have heard that the line to get your certificate of completion, so to speak can be two hours long so we stop for lunch before going to the Cathedral. Several days ago a pilgrim told us we MUST go to this particular restaurant in Plaza Cervantes, and there it was, right in front of us. It was indeed a good lunch – now off we go to the Cathedral.

Lee and I in front of the Santiago de Compostela Cathedral




It took us quite awhile to actually find “where” to get our Compostelas but once we did, the wait was about one hour for us.  We had to show our Pilgrim Passports to prove where we started and how long it took.

I have two passports because I filled up the first one


And then . . . It is official – I walked the 500 miles (with a few exceptions) across northern Spain!

Holding my certificates


This has been such a dramatic journey and it is too soon to process it all; that will come later. There are so many photos and stories I have not shared, but this may be my last blog until I  get home. I still, as I write this, have not been inside the Cathedral. There is more to experience.

13 comments on “Day 39      Lavacolla to Santiago

  1. Vicky says:

    And so it ends, will you go on, will you take a few days to enjoy Santiago, what day will you fly from Spain?

  2. Phyllis Weber says:

    Geri, God has blessed you all along this walk, you are awesome and the blogs so very interesting. See you at the coffee place when you are rested. THANK YOU for sharing your life adventure with us. save travels home.

    • Geri Wilson says:

      See you then, thanks for following my journey with me – and thanks for your prayers. When I get home I will have better internet connection and will share more photos for anyone interested.

  3. Kathy says:

    You made it!! I’m so happy for you and looking forward to hearing about your adventure on a hike together! Enjoy your last days there and safe travels home Geri.

    • Geri Wilson says:

      Thanks Kathy – yesterday was great tho I haven’t posted it on the blog – took a bus tour to the coast (on FB) – so nice not to be walking though we did see other pilgrims still walking. Some end their pilgrimage at Finisterre – on the coast.

  4. Jmaynard says:

    Can’t wait to hear all about it when we get together in june. It’d been a wonderful adventure together 😁

    • Geri Wilson says:

      Thank you for your interest and going along with me. Knowing others were following and were interested, people who know me,made those long days alone more enjoyable.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Words just can’t express how moved I am and so happy for you. I can’t imagine what you are feeling.
    Prayers,
    Martha

  6. Naomi Williams says:

    Your once in a life time journey is coming to a close. You must be satisfied , happy, and thankful that God was taking care of you. I have enjoyed the pictures and the text. Look forward to hearing more about it when you get home. Congradulations

Leave a Reply

