Day 31 Sarria -Day of rest

May 14, 2016.         No mileage, no walking on the Camino, trying to heal my shin splints

I woke up this morning after a fretful night of pain in my right shin and hobbled out of my plush hotel room and down to the dining room for the breakfast buffet. Wow! Do they treat their customers well! Every fruit you can imagine, lots of breads and sweets, but for me, lots of eggs and cheese for protein. It was a breakfast of fruit, cheese and eggs. I hobbled back up the stairs and went back to bed until 11 a.m. I checked out of the hotel that treated me so well and carried my backpack into the ancient part of the city and checked into the private alberque that I will share with Lee and Brian tonight. 

Their train is coming in at 7 pm, so I walked to the train station as a “trial run” for tonight. I stopped in at the Santa Marina church and got a new peregino credential as mine is almost full. Another beautiful church and I took a few pictures. I went back to the room to rest until 5 pm when I had an appointment for a leg massage. The massage really seemed to work. 

While waiting for the train I ran into the Austrailian couple that I had walked in with to Cacabelos last week; they were waiting for their daughter to come in to share the last 100 km with them. I was so happy to see Lee and Brian. I have met so many people on the Camino. Being alone, I have developed a depth of character and had to face some things within myself . . . But now it was going to be just three friends sharing experience.

We stopped for dinner near the Iglesia Santa Marina and spent the evening excitingly getting ready for my Day 31 of the Camino, their first.

(Photos will be posted later, do not have WIFI at the present)

11 comments on “Day 31 Sarria -Day of rest

  1. Vicky says:

    And so it begins again.🙏💕🙏💕🏃

  2. Teresa says:

    How fun to have your friends there with you, not that you’ve ever really been alone during these first several weeks. You are always mentioning people that you’ve met and walked with….but how nice to have friends from home to share your experience with.

    • Geri Wilson says:

      Yes, this is different – having fun with old friends – even though I was off the Camino for 3 days, I am still running into people I knew from weeks ago. I have spent hours walking alone on the Camino,and that is just how it was. That was my Camino – but my end is much different. God is using both for me to grow as a person.

  3. Anonymous says:

    So hoping your legs and ankle are better. Have fun tomorrow

  4. Anonymous says:

    I am so VERY happy they are with you. I hope your legs are able to carry you.
    Prayers,
    Martha

  5. Anonymous says:

    So glad you are resting

  6. Naomi Williams says:

    I am glad that you are resting and taking care of yourself

Leave a Reply

