Day 22 Leon to Villadangos Del Paramor 

May 5, 2016.      Thursday

I continued my R and R in Leon this morning, taking advantage of a 12 noon checkout time and toured the Palace of the Guzmans. Again rich with history, it was built in 1560 and is in very good condition.

The official website:
http://www.leon.es/Visit/Monuments_of_the_City/All_the_Monuments/Palacio_de_Los_Guzmanes_1;jsessionid=B59A05C7D354E1A638B2B5D2A51358B1Guzman castle

I will post just a few photos showing the Corinthian and Ionic columns and stained glass (which was added in the 1940’s) depicting castles, coat of arms, typical dress of the various regions and castles.

Courtyard of the Guzman Palace



Staind glass windows on the second level depicting castles in the region


After the tour, it was time to head to the bus stop.On the way I had my favorite lunch – tortilla de patata and before you knew it I was getting off the bus in Villadangos Del Paramor. I felt that the bus dropped me off in the 1950’s “Last Picture Show.”  It had such a lonely abandoned feeling about it, including the wind blowing little around.If ound my albergue and now the evening is young to rest, read,and/or prepare for tomorrow’s 18mile walk to Astorga (possibly in the rain).

10 comments on “Day 22 Leon to Villadangos Del Paramor 

  1. YOLANDA MILLAN says:

    I love your journey of El camino and enjoy your narrative and pictures. Adelante Peregrino 🙂

  2. Vicky says:

    Nice that you had that time in Leon. You got to enjoy a little history and culture. Tomorrow is a long day, rest well. You know what I pray for. Buen Camino, and Vaya con Dios!
    The stained glass windows a beautiful!

  3. Naomi Williams says:

    That stained glass window is beautiful. You are meeting so many wonderful people. As you tell about your trip, you make it like I was there with you. The time is going by fast.

  4. Anonymous says:

    I’m so glad that you got a chance to rest and play tourist…and in such a beautiful, historic place. I want to hear more about it when you return. Reading about your ATM card my heart was racing. I could almost feel your panic. God, indeed, looks out for you. (And your guardian angel also) Thank you, again, for the daily notes.
    Blessings and prayers,
    Martha

    • Geri Wilson says:

      It is amazing how many wonderful little things happen every day, it has been an amazing experience of challenges. It is hard to believe howling I have been walking.

Leave a Reply

