Day 17 Boadilla Del Camino to Carrion de Los Condes

April 30, 2016 Saturday

15.6 miles Started at 7 am – arrived at 2 pm.

I started the morning with a beautiful sunrise against a tree lined canal. 

Sunrise


Reflections along th canal

It was a day of solitude, morning meditation and prayers.  The sun w was out but it was chilly, my coat was off and on all day. I stopped for lunch at 12 and sat with some ladies from New Zealand. I had a cheese and tomato sandwhich – enough for two people but I ate it all.  Nothing out of the ordinary today,  very flat walking on a wide dirt path next to a highway – with green fields on both sides and snow-capped mountains to the north.

The view to my right – north


Goofing off in the flower fields (canola flowers)

Am i in my element or what?

Wildflowers along the Way – starting to see more-spring is happening before our eyes.


A most welcomed sight – the town where I hope to be sleeping and the end of my walk for today – Carrion de las Condes


I was greeted into the Sana Maria Albergue by two nuns with such warm and generosity! The sister carried my bag upstairs to my bed and another one took my laundry. This is an ancient medieval town fill of history and charm. I am home for the night sitting in a bar posting this as the church bells ring and many run out to mass. Another day of gratefulnless and serenity.

18 comments on “Day 17 Boadilla Del Camino to Carrion de Los Condes

  1. Kathy says:

    Love the flower pictures Geri! Glad your ankle is holding up. Thanks so much for the great blogs. I love reading them and thinking of you. ❤️❤️

  2. YOLANDA MILLAN says:

    such beautiful picture of you among the flowers 🙂 Adelante peregrino !! Yolanda

  3. Linda Eula says:

    You need to frame that photo in the canola field when you get home

  4. Anonymous says:

    You are so very blest, but I know you know that. I hope that someday you will write a book.
    Martha

  5. Pamela Swanson says:

    Really enjoying following your journey, thinking of you.

  6. Vicky says:

    It sounds like a very good day. I love your photos Geri. Did the nun do your wash for you? You are sleeping now. Rest well. Via con Dios pilgrim!

    • Geri Wilson says:

      Yes, the sister took it from me and told me where it would be in 45 min – and I was instructed to hang it on the line – but instead I used the dryer – it was too late for it to dry on the line.

  7. Jmaynard says:

    Sounds like a great day, flower fields and church bells. Hope you got to see some historic sights. Take care of that ankle. Prayers always

  8. Anonymous says:

    I love your photos…I hope you are going to do something with all these photos. Maybe a book or something? xo

  9. Naomi Williams says:

    You are meeting so many nice people. The scenery is beautiful. You seem to be doing OK. the Lord is taking care of you.

    • Geri Wilson says:

      I think of you almost every day because every morning I am treated to a symphony of bird music. I can’t always see them, but sometimes in the afternoon when the Camino is quieter, less people walking,etc – the birds get closer to me and fly close to me or even land on the trail right near me and I see birds I have never seen before,small and petite with bright lime green breasts and gray and white wings. And lots of chuck-coos! It is amazing listening to them every day. You would love it,

Leave a Reply

