Cut it Out

  

Before I left for the Camino, I made one more inventory of my backpack to “lighten the load.”  Out came:

Portable charger

Sarong from Bali

Gauze pads

Antibiotic cream

Travel pack of Tums

Evening wear (tights and long T-shirt)

P.J.’s

My two one-liter water bottles (taking one 3/4 liter bottle)

And then . . . On the morning of April 11, I walked out my front door to walk toward the airport. This was no longer a training walk, but the real deal. I left my IPhone behind carrying everything I would need for 6 weeks in my backpack and walked for eight hours without music, audio book, texting, checking the mileage on my Fitbit, posting on Facebook or any other electronic distraction.  So my pilgrimage began. I walked and tried to be mindful looking into the eyes of those I passed.

 

Walking down my street

 
My walk started in Suburbia San Diego where I live. Behind me in this photo is my house and gray skies. But walking south the skies were blue, with white puffy clouds, a day of promise. This in some way mirrored the Camino as most of the day I walked east to west, as I will in Spain. I even saw a yellow arrow, but I think  it had to do with underground digging. 

The first hour in subIurbia. I passed houses with front yards filled with roses in full bloom. I could smell them three houses away. 

 

Near Lake Murray and Kiowa

  
 
 

Crossing the freeway – I8 and Lake Murray

 

And then I turned on to El Cajon Blvd where I walked for the next four hours. This is not one of San Diego’s finest neighborhoods. I saw numerous tattoo, smoke, smog and auto shops- strip malls-pawn shops-used clothing stores-tiny little eateries of every imaginable cuisine-and people down on their luck. 

 

Church hear Hillcrest – gray clouds above the steeple


Then I was in familiar territory – Hillcrest -my old stomping ground.  I walked right by buildings where I used to work and down Bachman to Hotel Circle.  It started sprinkling on me walking toward Old Town so I went in a hotel and asked  if. I could wait for a few minutes  in their lobby.  I was asked for my I.D., given approval and told, “Don’t wait too long.”  I guess he didn’t like the backpack look. I  left, preferring the light rain. 

Walking east on Hotel Circle South

  

Walking east on Hotel Circle South

 
Before long I was in my hotel room, washing my clothes in the sink, stretching my tight back  muscles and preparing for the flight early the next morning.

Home made clothes line

Tomorrow . . . .travel day.

15 comments on “Cut it Out

  1. Vicky says:

    I hope you saw my comment from yesterday. I thought of you on your pilgrimage throughout the day as I am sure I will daily throughout your time away, You, Geri, are a true woman of God and an inspiration to many. Go, knowing you are loved. Via con Dios friend!

    • Geri Wilson says:

      Hi Vicky- I did see your reply but Internet connection has been so off and on that I didn’t reply when I saw it. I thought of you and Lisa when I went thru the college area. I kept wondering if I would see someone I knew wherever I was. Without listening to anything I had so much time to think -I thought about so many people I know, friends and family and mostly felt so blessed. Walking alone but not alone.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Be safe. Have fun! Do not work too hard! Be safe!!!! Love, Helen

    • Geri Wilson says:

      Hi Helen: Thanks for being in touch. Hard is the heavy backpack, Safe is being vigilant, Fun is going with the flow and being open to the adventure. So far so good.

  3. Mary Ann says:

    Only you could make a walk up El Cajon Blvd. Sound like a fun adventure! You are my inspiration. Did you ever know that you’re my hero? Every step you take I’ll be watching you. Jesus loves you this I know cuz the bible tells me so. Lol

    • Geri Wilson says:

      Mary Ann! So nice hearing from you. I’ll have to tell you more stories about me and then you might want to rethink that hero stuff! LOL! Yesterday WAS an adventure – lots of time to think and pray and look and think. I tried to post another blog at the airport but the connection wouldn’t upload photos – the Internet is only fun when it works! So far all is good. Stop over in NYC in 3 hours. Keep the faith baby!

  4. Phyllis Weber says:

    Looking forward to being with you on your journey as you blog, praying for your safety, strength with each step and inter peace. God be with you.

    • Geri Wilson says:

      Phyllis: Thank you for your prayers. So far poor internet internet connection at the hotel, at the airport and on the plane is trying to do my serenity. Can’t let that happen!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Are you in Kansas yet Dorothy? you are in my thoughts and prayers.
    M

  6. Anonymous says:

    You will be in my prayers.

  7. Linda Disbro says:

    Have a blast! Be safe, I’m very excited for you. You will be greatly missed! God Bless You.

  8. Han maynard says:

    What a fun walk. Hope you won’t need your antibiotic cream

Leave a Reply

