Singing in the rain!

When I last left you, I told you my goal for the week was to walk 12 miles two days in a row. I did it!

On Saturday, March 5th I walked 14 miles with a group of friends on the historic San Diego Arizona Railroad tracks in Carrizo Gorge and crossed the Goat Canyon Trestle.

My photo album on Facebook with comments:

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10207987224152709.1073741901.1661145605&type=1&l=2e998fbeca

I was very discouraged after the 14 mile hike because I was so tired. If I was on the Camino, would I have had enough energy to even check into a hostel?

Sunday and Monday were rest days due to the rain . . . and personal choice.

Tues: I walked 15 miles around my neighborhood and neighboring towns. The entire walk was on either asphalt or cement, but my camera and I had so much fun finding the spring colors and smells wherever I went, even under freeways.

Wed: I walked 14 miles through a very commercial part of San Diego and took the trolley home. The good part about this day was I made it home easily before dark.

Thursday: I walked 10 miles: 4 on cement, 6 on mountain trails up and down. This was not a good day. My backpack hurt my shoulder blades after eight miles and I wanted to quit. I couldn’t imagine being on the Camino and having to go on. What will I do when/if this happens? Sit down and cry or regroup?

Friday: After my disastrous Thursday, I got up early Friday and was on the trail at 6:30 am. This time I was hiking in a canyon, all on dirt and under beautiful oak and sycamore trees. I kept my backpack lighter, changed socks mid-day, took breaks and was determined to walk at least 12 miles. There was a really good chance of rain, and I was hoping it would rain because I wanted to test the “rain gear” that I will be using on the Camino. It didn’t rain until the very end of the hike, but rain it did!!!!  It came down in buckets and my rain gear protected me perfectly. The trail was empty by then. I may have been the only one left having so much fun singing and skipping in the rain. It came down so hard and so fast the canyon’s little creek became a rushing river and I couldn’t go back to my car the way I came; the trail had become a river, like a mini flash flood. But I did find another way back to the parking lot before it closed, lengthening my walk for the day to 16.8 miles. Funny thing, with all that singing in the rain I wasn’t tired at the end of the day.

I exceeded my training goal for the week, now how can I top that this week? I can’t. No I can’t “top” it, I will just keep on keeping on, trying to do at least ten miles a day.

These were all taken Friday in Penasquitos Canyon.

2 comments on “Singing in the rain!

  1. Vicky says:

    You are truly an inspiration Geri. I hope and pray that I will increase my walking and general physical activity by the time that I retire very, very soon.

  2. Teresa says:

    Great job Geri! You will be so mesmerized by your surroundings or lost in your thoughts that some days will fly by, but other days will be truly a grind. The Camino is like life….some days are easier than others but every day will be a blessing! Buen Camino!

Leave a Reply

