Itinerary

Tips-on-doing-the-Camino-de-Santiago-in-Spain-

The scallop shell has long been the symbol of the Camino de Santiago. … an inseparable image of the pilgrim (photo anonymous).

I will be walking on The Camino Frances route on “The Way of St. James.” Here is a map and tenative itinerary.

mapforblog

1. Day 1 St. Jean Pied de Port, France to Roncevalles, Spain (April 15) 15.6 mi
2. Roncevalles to Zubiri 13.6 mi
3. Zubiri to Pamplona 13.0 mi
4.  Pamplona to Puente La Reina 14.8 mi
5.  Puente La Reina to Estella 13.6 mi
6.  Estella to Los Arcos 13.4 mi
7.  Los Arcos to Logrono 17.3 mi
8. Logrono to Najera 18.0 mi
9. Najera to Santo Domingo de la Calzada 13.2 mi
10.Santo Domingo de la Calzada to Belorado 13.9 mi
11. Belorado to San Juan de Ortega 15.0 mi
12. San Juan de Ortega to Burgos 16.2 mi
13. Burgos to Hornillas del Camino 13.0 mi
14. Hornillas del Camino to Castrojeriz 12.5 mi
15. Castrojeriz to Fromista 15.5 mi
16. Fromista to Carrion de los Condes 12.0 mi
17. Carrion de los Condes to Terradillos de los Templarios 16.7 mi
18. Terradillos de los Templarios to either Bericanos or Calzadilla de los Hermanillos (unsure) 14-18.0 mi
19.Bericanos or Calzadilla de los Hermanillos to Mansilla de las Mulas 16.7 mi
20. Mansilla de las Mulas to Leon 11.2 mi
21. Leon to Villadangos del Paramo 13.2 mi
22. Villadangos del Paramo to Astorga 17.7 mi
23. Astorga to Rabanal del Camino 12.8 mi
24. Rabanal del Camino to Molinaseca 15.9 mi
25. Molinaseca to Villafranca del Bierzo 19.0 mi
26.Villafranca del Bierzo to O’Cebreiro 18.0 mi
27.O’Cebreiro to Triacastela 12.9 mi
28. Triacastela to Sarria (May 14) 11.6 mi
29. Sarria to Ferreiros 8.3 mi
30. Ferreiros to Gonzar or Castromaior 10.3 or 11.8 mi
31. Gonzar or Castromaior to Palas de Rei 12.0 or 11.2 mi
32. Palas de Rei to Melide 9.0 mi
33.Melide to Ribadiso de Baixo 7.0 mi
34. Ribadiso de Baixo to Salceda 9.0 mi
35. Salceda to Lavacolla Igrexa 11.2 mi
36.Lavacolla Igrexa to Santiago 6.3 mi

I have cushioned my trip from April 15 to May 14 with a couple extra days that I can use to rest, catch up if weather has influenced my schedule, or to have a day off to wander around with no real destination in mind. But on May 14, I will meet my friends, Lee Fullbright and Brian Ellsworth in Sarria and we will walk to Santiago together.

Training goal this week: To walk at least one day 12 – 15 miles.

Preparation: Continue to review my packing list.

13 comments on “Itinerary

  1. Anonymous says:

    Wow….I’m so proud of you……Love, your cuz Vicky

  2. lynnsandy says:

    wow, best of luck and I hope you have a great time! Lv S

    • Geri Wilson says:

      Sandy – there are still so many things to think about – prep and training, etc.But once I put my foot on the plane . . . the planning and training is over and the adventure begins.

  3. helenylca says:

    Good morning,

    Wow, do you have energy!!! Is your aim so many miles per hour? When I was a senior in high school, I could walk 3 miles an hour. If you do that, you will be walking five hours. I would be dead at my present age!!!

    Glad to hear you are doing great with retirement!!! Continue having fun and doing what makes you happy.

    Love, Helen

  4. Geri Wilson says:

    Hi Helen: Thanks for your comment. I wish I “could” walk 3 mph for 10 – 15 miles, but I am uncomfortable at that pace – no time to stop and smell the flowers, take pictures, breathe in the experience. I average about 2 mph when I am walking by myself. My goal is to get to from point
    A to point B and those destinations are suggestions by a popular guide book I am following. All of it is subject to change – this is a pilgrimage not a race, an adventure not a competition. I only have to make it to Sarria by May 14 to meet my friends, everything else might or could change. Have you seen the movie “The Way?” It’s about this pilgrimage.

  5. Marsha says:

    I am really looking forward to traveling with you vicariously to see your pictures and read your observations . I admire your independence and sense of adventure. Sure enjoyed your pictures of your sky diving!
    Marsha

  6. Anonymous says:

    Our niece and her husband did part of this route before meeting up with some friends for a wedding. They loved it. Proud of you!

  7. Sue says:

    Hi Geri,
    I’m a friend of Virginia. I hike the Pacific Crest Trail, and I’m so excited to follow your quest. My only suggestion is to factor in rest days.
    Sue

    • Geri Wilson says:

      Sue – it is so nice to meet you. Thank you for following my blog. I actually have 3 extra days from the time I begin in St. Jean Pied de Port in France to the time I meet my friends in Sarria, Spain on May 14. I can use those days to rest, to be a tourist, or to split some of my long hikes into two days. We will see how it goes. First challenge is to get over the Pyrennes. Again, thank you for your interest.

    • Geri Wilson says:

      Hi Sue: I was on the PCT Saturday near Lake Morena. It was so interesting talking to the hikers since this was the beginning of their journey. Have you done the entire PCT? All at once or in sections? I have to be in Sarria on May 14. I have 28 walking days scheduled which means I have 3 extra extra days than can be used to rest, storm delays or playing tourist.

Leave a Reply

