Maybe Cuyamaca

I took a little time off from blogging and training to get caught up with some things around the house and yard. Last weekend I had an exceptional experience hiking up San Jacinto Mountain in Riverside County. We started at Humber Park in Idywild at 6, 000 feet and hiked up the Devil’s Slide Trail toward the 11,000 foot peak of San Jacinto. I hiked with my friend Brian. This was my first time hiking at this elevation. It was a long hard hike for me, 15 miles according to my Fitbit. At 9700 feet I felt the first small signs of altitude sickness and did not go any farther. Coming back I made a tactical error on the trail and got turned around and separated from Brian for one hour. That “lost” episode turned out okay, but I learned many lessons of safety.

Here are the photos I took, with comments that tell the story:

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10206544554886879.1073741878.1661145605&type=1&l=c0ce2eb610

This coming Saturday I am going back up to Cuyamaca – another training hike, concentrating on gaining elevation. The forecast calls for thunder showers in the afternoon, so I don’t know how many miles I will hike. This could be similar to a hike I did by myself a couple of weeks ago, but I think this time I may have a partner.

I am six weeks from my hike up Half Dome in Yosemite. I want to continue my long weekend hikes but need to put some serious time in to getting my arms ready to pull myself up the cables on Half Dome.

We’ll see how it goes on Saturday with the thunderstorms . . .maybe . . .

2 comments on “Maybe Cuyamaca

  1. Anonymous says:

    HI Geri,
    I continue to enjoy your blog, and the way you are training you will be able to Hike Mt. Everests in six weeks!!! Hugs, Marsha

    • Geri Wilson says:

      Marsha: Thank you for continuing to read and comment on my blog. Believe me, it would take me too long to hike up Mt. Everest. I am a determined, but continue to be a slow hiker.

Leave a Reply

