Maybe Cuyamaca Mountain

We are having warm humid weather in San Diego this week. Last Saturday my training hike did take me to the beach where I enjoyed the cool breezes of the Pacific Ocean and hiked 15 miles.

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10206329693595481.1073741875.1661145605&type=1&l=ea573432ae

Since I am training for Half Dome in Yosemite National Park (elevation of the valley is 4,000 feet), I think it is important that I go above sea level occasionally. This weekend the weather in our mountains looks like it will be in the mid-80’s. Cuyamaca Mountain has an elevation of 6512 and is the second highest peak in San Diego County. The hike is  seven miles in and out and a 1500 foot elevation gain. Across the highway is Stonewall Peak, a four mile in and out hike with an 840 foot elevation gain. My plan is to hike Cuyamaca twice and Stonewall once. Well, maybe . . . .we’ll see . . .

Leave a Reply

