Maybe the Beach

I think it’s time to play a little catch up. I posted on June 5 that maybe I was going to hike Cowles Mountain from the Big Rock Trail. Plans changed at the last minute, and a friend of mine and I went inland instead and hiked the Morena Butte. I also mentioned I wanted to do 15 miles every Saturday during the month of June.

Here’s my report card, although the month isn’t over.

June 6 – Morena Butte 8 VERY hard miles, lots of climbing up and around boulders:

Taking a break on the Morena Butte summit.

Taking a break on the Morena Butte summit.

(Following is a link to my Facebook post with comments on the photos.)

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10206155056709668.1073741873.1661145605&type=1&l=79ebe33521

June 13 – I needed to catch up around the house and did an urban walk by myself, which included hills (Fanita in Santee) – 10 miles.

June 20 – In 90 degree weather I sort of did the hike planned for June 6, Cowles Mountain via Big Rock Trail. I did not do a loop back to my car the way I came, but trying to gain more miles walked up Cowles, then Pyles then down the other side of Cowles, walked to the Mission Trails Visitor’s Center and down the Old Mission Dam Rd towards Santee. Total miles-13

Pyles Peak Summit

Pyles Peak Summit

(Following is a link to my Facebook post with comments on the photos.)

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10206279099530661.1073741874.1661145605&type=1&l=7647758363

This Saturday I might hike Cuyamaca Mountain (temperature forecast in the low 80’s) but a friend is asking for a beach hike, Torrey Pines, so . . . maybe . . .

I still haven’t walked my 15 miles for June so maybe it will be this Saturday. I am walking about three or four miles every day during the week, but it will be challenging for me to hike on trails in the summer heat. Last night I yielded the trail to a rattlesnake. I kept a safe distance.

Yielding to the snake on the trail.

Yielding to the snake on the trail.

Since I live close to sea level, I know I need to go to higher elevation as part of my training for Half Dome, we’ll see how it goes this weekend.

Leave a Reply

