Penasquitos Canyon on a January day

I’ve been distracted from blogging the last couple of weeks. I haven’t had anything interesting to write about as I have been working, working too much. But I have this weekend off and it was time to get my camera out and my tennis shoes on.

I explored a new part of San Diego to me, the Penasquitos Canyon. For those of those that are not familiar with it, you can get a good map and read about it on their website:   http://www.sandiego.gov/park-and-recreation/parks/penasq.shtml

How lucky I was to have a January hike in 80-degree weather with a slight breeze. Ideal conditions to me. This hike was longer than I am used to, but it is one of the easiest hikes I have taken. The trail is shared with horses, cyclists and hikers and is more like a jeep trail than a hiker’s trail. It’s an easy stroll, other than a few rocks and mud from the recent rains. The canyon runs east to west between Interstate 5 and Interstate 15. The main trail is a six-mile hike. Halfway into the hike, there is a waterfall. Again, I was lucky to be able to see this waterfall while it was rushing from the recent rains.

I walked from east to west, south of the creek. This is the beginning of the trail.

It wasn’t long before I saw water in the creek.

The path continued with lots of sun and open spaces mixed with beautiful California live oak trees. These are a personal favorite of mine; happy memories from Kimball Valley days.

Another view of the creek:

You soon hear the waterfall, and a little exit off the main trail will lead you to it.

Because we were on the south side of the creek, I could not actually see the water falling (without climbing on a high rock – NOT), but next time I will cross over to the north to check out that view.

Rushing water:

Looking down:

Looking west, this was the last two miles of the hike.

Bird sanctuary on the west end of the trail.

One of the  last creek crossings where I stopped to watch some dogs splash around in the water.

The last walk “down” to the trailhead. This is the end of  my hike, but the beginning if you start from the west.

After the hike, I drove back to the eastern entrance where I enjoyed a tour of Rancho Penasquitos. I’ll share that part of the adventure with you next time.

If you live in the San Diego area and haven’t been to this canyon, I encourage you to check it out. I know I will be back, if not before, at least in the spring to see the wildflowers.

Enjoy the slide show:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

11 comments on “Penasquitos Canyon on a January day

  1. Vicky Blevins says:

    Hi Geri….Wow,thanks so much for sharing this wonderful place …I love to get the ol’ mountain bike out once an awhile and this area looks like it really offers user friendly trails for walking and biking. I’m sure this Spring will be stunning there.
    Love, your cousin Vicky
    Joshua Tree, Ca.

    • Geri Wilson says:

      Vicky: If you decide to get that “ol’ mountain bike” out and come down this spring, let me know. I can hike it and you can walk it – I will wave as you go by. There are so many side trails that I didn’t even mention. On the other hand, there is an “ol’ mountain bike” hanging out in my garage. This would be a good place to to let it out and get some air. 🙂

  2. Patty Schoessler Lavarias says:

    Thanks for the beautiful slide show of your hike. I had forgotten just how beautiful that part of the country is. I’m looking forward to enjoying your pictures of the wild flowers in the spring.

    I’m going for a walk on the bike path this morning…different scenery, though…big waves and spouting whales this time of year.

    See you at the gathering on Saturday!
    Aloha,
    Patty

  3. Anonymous says:

    Really enjoyed this, Geri!!! Thanks. Pamster

  4. Jan Maynard says:

    Love your photos! Next time, hope I can go with you.

  5. Lee says:

    Beautiful– i want to do this hike!!!!

    • Geri Wilson says:

      Yes, let’s try to plan something. If not before, I know I am going to do it again in the spring. We can do the two car thing, I don’t think I will be ready for 12 miles “this” spring.

  6. […] I hiked this same trail one way in January; you can refer to it here if you are interested in seeing how different it looks in the summer:  (https://gerisroom.wordpress.com/2012/01/29/penasquitos-canyon-on-a-january-day/) […]

Leave a Reply

