Winter Beckons

The other day I started out for a hike on Laguna Mountain. I was expecting cool weather and hoping to see some autumn colors. Instead, I drove right straight into Winter Wonderland. What a surprise!

On the way up the mountain I was amazed by this brilliant tree along Hwy 79 just before Descanso.

Along Hwy 79 11-5-11

Along Hwy 79 11-5-11

Cuyamaca Lake was covered in three to five inches of snow.

Lake Cuyamaca 11-5-11

Lake Cuyamaca 11-5-11

Near Lake Cuyamaca

Near Lake Cuyamaca

See the blue sky and clouds.

This was taken near Lake Cuyamaca Store.

Near Lake Cuyamaca Store

Near Lake Cuyamaca Store

I continued up the mountain toward Mt. Laguna and found more snow as autumn and winter battled for prominence. You can see for yourself:

It was wonderful visiting the snow on this particular occasion: the roads were clear, the sun was shining, the sky was blue, and the temperature was mild. Even with all the planning and organizing we get caught up in, sometimes the unexpected can be the real treasure.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 comments on “Winter Beckons

  1. Wow! Those are great pictures. Winter is closer than we think.

    • Geri Wilson says:

      Travel: Thank you for reading my post. There’s a bigger story behind the story – getting these few good photos – I was so excited about the snow, I lost my spare battery and ran out of “juice,” but had so much fun anyway. I ended up taking some of the photos on my smart phone.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Glorious pictures! Thank you for sharing the beauty!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Oh such beauty..Janeau

  4. Anonymous says:

    It’s a good thing I am drinking warm tea right now, because your photos are so vivid that I feel the cold right to my bones! And, it makes me want to go outside and build a snowman. Thank you for sharing your vision!

Leave a Reply

