Valley Girl

ANY CHARACTER HERE
In Southern California, a Valley girl is from the San Fernando Valley, in the Los Angeles area. Valley girls say “like,” tubular,” and “gnarly”–and dress in the latest fashions. They are spoiled, thin, rich, self-centered and blond.
ANY CHARACTER HERE
I am none of these things, yet I call myself a Valley girl. Well, I am a girl, gender-speaking.  I was once thin, when I was freshly divorced and sick. What hair I have left is brown, and if I were to say tubular it would refer to my waistline–and I will never be rich in monetary terms.
Kimball Valley, April 2011

Kimball Valley today, still undeveloped.

ANY CHARACTER HERE
But at my core, I am a Valley girl–a Kimball Valley girl. Kimball Valley is a small valley in rural Southern California,  eight miles southeast of the small town of Ramona in San Diego County.
ANY CHARACTER HERE
I spent some of the most exciting and formative years of my childhood in Kimball Valley with my sister and brothers. We roamed freely over rocks and boulders and sage, either on foot or horseback. We climbed trees, jumped from branch to branch; scaled boulders larger than two-story houses, sometimes falling or getting trapped on ledges. These childhood adventures laid the foundation of the woman I am today. Adventurous. Nature-loving. Curious. Fearless. Independent. This led to my intererest in photography and  capturing the world’s beauty through the lens of my camera.
ANY CHARACTER HERE

I am not a gifted writer, but I am a storyteller. I have written two stories about Kimball Valley for my grandchildren. I will post them later, when I figure out how. Please come back, as I share my life with you through photography.

16 comments on “Valley Girl

  1. Geri, congratulations on this new and exciting escapade. If it is true that “a picture is worth a thousand words” then your photos would overflow the Library of Congress. Something tells me that your “room” will reflect your comfort, honesty and wit that I have come to love over the past 30 years. This forum will no doubt be the awakening of talents and abilities you’ve never dreamt of!

    Let the JOURNEY begin…

  2. kathy stokes says:

    hi Geri, im kathy stokes ur cousin, u knew my mother well, marion dale. we miss her but i know shes looking down upon us all…she also was a gr8 writer and story teller. hope to visit u one day, your valley looks lovely. xoxokath

    • Geri Wilson says:

      Kathy: As you know, I was so fond of your mother, and yes, she was such a good writer. I hope we do get to meet some day, meanwhile, I hope you will come back to check out the blog and leave comments. Geri

  3. Vicky Blevins says:

    Hi Geri…..love this!…Your room has a great start. I’m so proud of you. Love ,your cuz Vicky

  4. Pamela says:

    So excited for you and Lee- post those photos!!

  5. Jamie Wine says:

    Excellent! So glad you’re sharing this with us and the world. Keep it up, we’ll stay posted.

  6. Ana Seeley says:

    Love it! Can’t wait to read more! Thnks for sharing!

  7. Miz Pam says:

    Love the Kimball Valley stories and the pics, of course.

    I love September…..it reminds me of my childhood- the excitement of new school clothes, the smell of my metal lunch box and a thermos filled with milk. And yes- those Santa Ana winds!! (Sneeze, sneeze.)

    Lovin’ the blog!!

  8. Jan Maynard says:

    Love it. You have always been a gifted writer

  9. Anonymous says:

    I am so glad that you have a place to share your passion. You are an amazing photographer and writer. Keep sharing your stories–the real ones and the made-up ones.

Leave a Reply

